Log in


Log in

ITEEA/TEEAP Program Excellence Award

Presented by the International Technology & Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) and the Technology & Engineering Education Association of Pennsylvania (TEEAP), this Excellence Award is of the highest honors given to Technology and Engineering Education programs on the elementary, middle, and high school level. It is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions to the profession. The Program Excellence Award provides public recognition on a local state level through TEEAP. If the recipient meets the criteria to be forwarded to ITEEA, these programs also receive recognition on an national and international level.

Send award nominations to:  Scott Farmer, TEEAP Awards Chair - Email

Applications for this Award:

Eligibility Requirements

Candidate programs for this award must be characterized as providing technology and engineering education instruction of high quality,be learner centered, and be relevant to a study of technological and literacy.

The documentation provided by the programs nominated will be reviewed by a team of three TEEAP officials. In order to be eligible for this citation, sixty percent (60%) of the technology education faculty must be members of the Technology & Engineering Education Association of Pennsylvania (TEEAP) at the time of nomination. In order for you to advance to the ITEEA Program of Excellence Award, sixty (60%) of the technology education faculty must be members of International Technology & Engineering Educator's Association (ITEEA) at the time of nomination.

The program must reflect a technology & engineering education philosophy and must incorporate contemporary teaching strategies. A school specific technology education curriculum guide, written or revised within the previous five years, must be in use and submitted with the nomination. Nominations may be initiated by anyone including the staff or administration of a school district as well as parents, community members, or other individuals from outside of the school district. However, the application must be completed by the nominated school to be considered for this award.

Time Line

If a school is nominated by an outside individual they will be contacted upon TEEAP's receipt of that nomination and requested to complete the application forms above. If a school wishes to self-nominate, the applicant school should complete the application forms and submit materials prior to August 30. Representatives of the winning programs are expected to attend the annual TEEAP Conference to receive the state award at the annual conference awards luncheon. Representatives of the winning programs are also requested to provide a Special Interest Session presenting their award winning program or some aspect of the program at the annual TEEAP conference. Contact will be made by the TEEAP Conference Exhibits Chairperson prior to the conference to arrange these sessions. It is also expected that representatives of the winning programs attend the ITEEA conference in the following spring to receive the international award assuming that their application qualifies to be forwarded to ITEEA.

The school district is encouraged to handle the public relations with their local newspapers. If the local district cannot handle this activity, please contact the TEEAP Public Relations chair.

Past Recipients of the Program Excellence Award


  • Canon McMillan  (2005-06)
  • Palmyra Area  (2019-2020)
  • Penn Manor (2013-14)

Middle School

  • Altoona Area Jr. High (2016-17)
  • Bala Cynwyd  (2012-13)
  • Boyertown Jr. High - East & West (2009-10)
  • Charles F. Patton (2015-16)
  • Conestoga Valley  (2006-07)
  • Emory H. Markle Intermediate School (2011-12)
  • Fleetwood (2006-07 & 2018-2019)
  • Greenville (2019-20)
  • Indiana Area Jr. High (2020-21)
  • Kutztown (2003-04)

  • Manheim Township (1999-2000)

  • Martin Meylin (2008-09)
  • Mount Nittany (2014-15)

  • Park Forest (2001-02 & 2010-11)

  • Sandy Run (1998-99)

High School

  • Conestoga Valley (2003-04 & 2019-20)
  • Cumberland Valley (2004-05)
  • Downingtown STEM Academy (2015-16)
  • Forest Hills (1998-99)
  • Gateway (2002-03)

  • Greenville (2000-01)

  • Indiana (2021-22)
  • Lower Merion (2009-10)

  • North Penn (2006-07)

  • Penncrest (2001-02)

  • Penn Manor (2020-21)

  • Penn Ridge (2017-18)

  • Pequea Valley (1999-2000)
  • Pine Grove (2018-2019)
  • Southern Lehigh (2005-06 & 2010-11)

  • Twin Valley (2007-08)

  • Unionville (2008-09)

Get Social with TEEAP!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software